In Contrast

Today is a perfect day.

The sun is shining in a porcelain bowl of a sky, the air is as crisp as a fresh apple, and the birds and chipmunks sing in counterpoint to the traffic rumbling by in a bass beat.

I am absurdly happy.

I know there are a myriad of ingredients that have gone into this recipe, but regardless of how this day manifested itself, I am going to enjoy every last drop of it.

Sure, I’m tired, woken twice by a fretful toddler and once by a snoring husband, but I’m managing.

Sure, I’m stressed, with tests and deadlines and demands galore at school, work and home, but I can handle it.

Sure, I’m back in migraine-management mode, having had a blissful mostly-migraine-free summer, but I know what I need to do to stay on track, and at least in the healthy eating department, I’m achieving balance. The stress-reduction and good sleep habits not so much, but certainly as much as life will currently allow me, I do. No more wine for a while, though, dammit.

But not even the tee-totalling demands of my overly-sensitive vascular system can bring me down today.

I am riding high, and grateful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

