Two Loving Minutes In The Car

“Momma, I don’t love you.”

– sharply indrawn breath

“What?”
“I don’t love you, Momma.”
“What do you mean you don’t love me? That’s impossible!”
“No. I DON’T love you.”
“Well, I love you.”
“No! No loving me!”
“Yup, I love you – you can’t take my love away from me!”
“I take your love away! No loving for me.”
“You can’t take my love away! It’s mine to do with as I wish. I can love you as much as I want to.”
“No! I don’t want you to love me!”
“Well, that’s too bad, because I love you so much – I love you all the way to the moon and back again, forever and ever and ever.”
“No! You DON’T LOVE ME! No, no, NO love!”
“Well, I’m very sad.”

– silence

“Momma, don’t be sad!”
“Well, I am.”
“Don’t worry – I will tickle you, and you will feel better.”
“I’m afraid tickling just won’t cut it this time – my sadness is too big. You told me you don’t love me, and that makes me desperately sad.”

– more silence

“Momma, I do love you.”
“Really? Are you sure?
“Yup! I do love you. I’m sure.”
“Oh, I’m so relieved! I love you too.”
“Yup, you love me to the MOON!”
“And back again, in an infinite loop! I love you loopily!”
“Loopidoopeedoo loo loo mamamamamamaloo da!”

– happy humming

“Momma, do we love Daddy?”
“We sure do! I love Daddy, and you love Daddy, and Daddy loves you, and Daddy loves me too!”
“Uhuh, that’s right!”

– feet happily kicking

“Momma, look! There’s the moon!”
“Wow! It’s so beautiful tonight!”
“Yah!”
“Momma, I think the moon loves me too!”
“Oh yes, I think it does too.”

1 comment so far

  1. Moosilaneous on

    A treasure. That’s both of you.
    Love you loopily too.


Leave a Reply

