Hiatus

I’ve not been writing for a while, I know.
It’s been odd. I’m so used to expressing myself that way that I feel like I should feel lost without it – but I don’t.
Instead, I’ve had unending visions of art dancing through my head.
I can think of nothing but colour, and form, and contrast.
I think this is Baby’s influence – for those to whom this is news.
I am four months pregnant, past the early weeks worry zone, and doing really well.
Not perfect, of course – I’d never expect that!
There’s a lot of headaches, the aches and pains are starting, and sundry other little discomforts. But, and for this I am indescribably thankful, I am myself. My mood has been amazing, and my brain, my emotional self, has not been highjacked.
This, as you know, has been my great fear. To find out otherwise, to have Baby on my side, helping me, is an untold blessing.
I’ve not been writing for another reason, as well. It’s not just that I don’t feel the draw right now – it’s also that this blog hasn’t felt like a safe space right now.
Given both my miscarriage and the interpersonal strain that happened after it last winter, I just don’t feel quite right writing here at this time.
So, since writing is an outlet for me, a way of safely expressing and sharing, I’m not going to try to force it when it just doesn’t feel right.
I’ll be taking a break for a while.
I don’t know how long – I imagine I’ll have all sorts of things to write about once Baby arrives, and hopefully before then.
But for now, I’m going to enjoy the peace and quiet, and think artistic thoughts.
Talk to you soon.

2 comments so far

  1. Lynn on

    I’ll miss you too, but I’m so happy to hear these quiet days have such a happy reason. Hope you’ll be back on and off, and we’ll get to hear more about life with two little Bonhommes!

  2. Nanci on

    I am so pleased this baby is being so kind to you. I will miss your writings. They are so insightful and honest. Continue to care for yourself and listen to what your heart is telling you. Wishing you a a healthy, smooth journey that continues to nurture your artistic talents


Leave a Reply

