Big Thoughts

“Mommy, are you proud of me for taking my own shower this morning?”
“Love, I am so proud that I barely even have words. I’m amazed. I’m astounded. Let me smell that sweet hair again.”
He giggles as I sniff his neck, confirming that he did, in fact, actually take his shower, with soap.
“And, I got dressed by myself, and made my own breakfast before you even woke up!”
I will most certainly qualify a half-eaten bowl of soggy shreddies as adequately nutritious on this auspicious morning.
“And look at how pleasant this morning has been, with no rushing, and no nagging and no yelling. And you got to watch TV for a while too!”
“Yup! I’m big now.”
“Yes, getting ready for the day all by yourself is a very grown-up thing to do. I’m very, very proud of you.”
“You know why?”
“Why, Love?”
“Cause you have to be able to take your own shower when you go to M.I.T.!”
“Well, yes, that’s very helpful. Definitely an asset.”
“Yup! That’s what I am! An asset!”
And humming, future world-changing (and hygienic) scientist and I, hand in hand, go.

1 comment so far

  1. moosilaneous on

    You have the coolest kid, ever.
    However… (you knew there was a however, didn’t you?) once, in 1983 I visited a close friend in his dorm at MIT. And, based upon my limited observational set, I can assure you that among the on-campus scientists-in-training at that time, showering was not a well-exhibited skill.

    And to boot, most who showered seemed to prefer the company of another while they did so.
    But I won’t tell Bonhomme.
    Yay for better mornings!


Leave a Reply

