The Beginning of a Journey

A few days ago, I got inspired. A picture, in a quilting magazine, from another artist‘s creative process, made me want to try something new.

So, in the interest of sharing, and of committing, and of seeing just how long this will take, I’ve decided to bring you along on the journey.

It began with this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Which led me to this sketch:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And then this stencil just leapt into my cart, begging to be part of it all somehow:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next will come transferring the sketch to my fabric, which I’ll share with you once I get there.

I’m excited, because this exploration of technique may be what I’ve been somewhat waiting for – in walking that line that I’m walking these days, between painting and sewing. I’ve struggled with the more traditional aspects of quilting, since precision and me, well, we’ve never gotten along very well. And I miss that blank canvas feeling. An expanse of white fabric, a black marker, and me – that’s more my thing.

And so begins my art quilt blog-along.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

